Friday, 5 December 2008

The Chronicles of Narnia (book review)

C.S.Lewis wrote a lot of books. Between 1949 and 1954 he wrote 'The Chronicles of Narnia', the seven-part novel. I have read four parts so far, but I prefer most a part called 'The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe'.

At the start of the Second World War, four kids, Peter, Edmund, Susan and Lucy are evacuated from London to the house of Professor Kirke. 

One day, they discover a magic wardrobe, which is a passage to Narnia. There, they meet a faun (half-man, half-goat), a family of talking beavers and other interesting creatures.

Edmund meets the White Witch without the others and makes a deal with her to bring the others to her. At the beavers' house the children find out that they are destined to come and help Aslan, the great lion to defeat the Witch.

They are soon hunted by the wolves sent by the Witch. They nearly escape. Little by little, they are on the run to Aslan's camp. On the way there, Father Christmas gives them some weapons. At the camp, they meet Aslan. They all fight against the Witch's troop and win. The Witch then arrives claiming that Edmund is her property, based on the 'Deep Magic' of Narnia. It says that the traitor belongs to her as a lawful prey and that she must kill them on the Stone Table. Aslan negotiates with her and sacrifices himself for Edmund. He is humiliated and stabbed to death, but is resurrected because there is deeper magic than the Witch knows.

Aslan then brings all the available troops for the final battle. They win again and the White Witch is killed. All four kids are pronounced kings and queens of Narnia.

This is my favourite book because it is very easy for reading and is very imaginary.

Pavle Mandić, VIII2, 3 December 2008

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: only a member of this blog may post a comment.